Death Wagon 26

Posted: December 13, 2014 in Ambulance, Author, Dystopian, EMS, Fantasy, Fiction, Sci-Fi, Writing
Tags: , , , , , , ,

After leaving Savanna I stride briskly to the bar where the Quadrant Runner sat. I knew nothing about their etiquette, or even if they had such things. Sliding into the stool next to the man, I signaled the bartender, ordering soy sake. I stole a glance at the helmet on the bar top next to the Runner. The helm pulled back years of nostalgia to my childhood, causing my ‘glance’ to come around in a stare.

The raised crest that ran down the center, housing the communication array, the visor that could flick from blast shield black, to thermal, to low light and even infra-red. The face plate that was rated for high elevation breathing, it had seen better days but I could gamble that it still worked perfectly. Taking the drink from the bartender I breathed in awe towards the Runner. “Is that? Is that a Rescue Ranger Environmental helmet, series two?”

Seconds drag by before the Runner turns his goggled covered eyes my way. His voice came out in a rasping metallic drawl, “It is. I see you know your antiques. Hard to find, even harder to find parts for it.”

Smiling easily I continued, “I always wanted one…” Once the word ‘wanted’ escaped my lips the Runner clamped a hand over the helmet, drawing the device closer to his person. I winced and finished my statement, “As a kid.”

This seems to take the edge off the Runner, though he still moved warily taking his hand off the helmet. “You here to trade?” The Runner tinned.

Nodding I set down the data pad, showing him the maps. “I need these updated, with the constant poly storms I can assume some of these routes are going to be closed.” The Quadrant Runner slowly looked down at the offered tablet, goggles catching the glare of the screen eerily. Clicking on the device, the Runner began to draw on the screen with a finger. My attention was pulled away by the bartender flicking through the holo-channels above the bar.

Reaching over, I tug at the bartender’s sleeve, motioning for him to stop on City-Net news. “Turn it up.”

The media was ablaze with news about Central, the reporter is nearly yelling over the noise of passing Aegis vehicles. Grim bonfires made out of decimated ambulances and service transports mixed with search lights of orthopters in the background.

‘We are here on scene as Sector Security contains the carnage from a terrorist cell found within the Rapid Emergency Critical Response compound. Sources report the terrorists were attempting cause a reemergence of the ATX virus. Several canisters containing the virus have already been found in key locations through out Stratus City and have been disarmed. The use of a class thirteen neutron bomb was authorized by Sector Security to eliminate any more stockpiles of the virus within the compound. Sources also say the leader of the terrorist cell; Curtis Wiles has escaped the compound and is at large. Aegis and Sector Security are offering a reward for the capture or whereabouts of the terrorist leader. The city stands in shock and mourning of those innocent lives lost, numbering near a thousand…’

My ears grow numb as I stare at my picture on the holo-vid. The holo splits to a dual view, as my face is now on Bounty-Net. The reward scrolls up rapidly, and up, settling on three quarter of a million credits, dead or alive. Within seconds, hunters begin chiming in, wanting in on the hunt. More holo boxes open, as several betting nets come to life. Odds on where, when and who was going to take me down.

Billy slaps me on the shoulder bringing me out of my stupor, “Hey! You are on Bounty-net. You just made the big time!” Trying to make light of a now hopeless situation, bless you Billy. I mutter, “Makes me feel all squishy inside.”

My navigator balks staring at the holo, the joy of his tone killed instantly, “I think I just went squishy in my pants…and not in a good way.” pointing at the update on Bounty Net. My eyes follow his finger to a blinking icon of a side profile portraying a black canine with a single red eye. The Black Dog. Just what I need a legendary bounty hunter on my tail. I prayed silently someone would shoot me now when I couldn’t feel it.

The Quadrant Runner moved from the bar, logging into a terminal near by. He was placing a bet! With despondent curiosity I watched the man, Billy tugged at my arm. “We got to go!” Taking the pad the Runner was working on I stand, though my knees almost refuse to cooperate. A thick goggled gaze turns my way, sizing me up. He nods, and punches a few more buttons on the terminal. His words grate on the air, “You should run. Forget the trade, if you live, I will never have to trade again.”

Hustling through the brothel I gather the others, Savanna meets us at the door. Concern lining her features, “You heard?”

“Yeah. I heard. We got to get out of here.” I say, the activity of motion pushing the shock back temporarily. Billy is frantically filling in Kat, Torq and Lacey on the developments.

Savanna reluctantly adds more bad news, “I spoke to Nobel. They are refusing to see the data without on site testing. They are also under the impression that you are a terrorist and of course allowing you entry is ludicrous as they put it.”

The crew and Lacey take information hard, I can feel their morale plummeting. Hunted, and now their only hope was being denied. Inside something snapped, the world came into focus, sharp and clear.

I can feel the vein in my forehead throb, as words snap forward. “Well that settles it then.” The others turned my way as I continued. “We go to Nobel anyways. We break down the door and make them listen to us.”

“How we going to do that, boss?” Torq asks, confused.

“They have medical information coming in from all over the world, and even Mars. Stands to reason it works both ways. We get in, run the tests ourselves, and then shunt the information to everyone. If it has the Nobel stamp, it’s gospel. It all hinges on one thing.” I say, turning to Lacey.

Lacey wiped at her cheek, my determination giving her strength. “It hinges on what, Suture?”

“It comes down to you. What you want. We can run and get you someplace safe before they get us. Or…we can give the world the slap in the face it needs for it to live.”

The botanist shifted her gaze from me to the others, to the growing crowd gathering around us. “I’ll do it. For humanity.” She said finally, holding her head up high.

“For Earth.” Torq said with sudden conviction.

‘For Mars’, Kat signed.

“For my Mom.” Billy said, causing Savanna to beam.

I push the doors to the brothel open, “Lets go. Time to hit it like we want to hurt it…”

“And drive it like we stole it!” Billy chuckled finishing the saying.

********* ********* ****** ******** ******** ***********

Billy was the last one back in the rig, talking and hugging his mother. I almost have to lay on the horn to separate the two. Finally, Billy detaches himself and climbs into the cab, looking smug. Savanna and her Kruger body guards fall out of sight as we make the first turn onto the street. “What’s with the grin, Billy-boy?” I ask.

My navigator shakes his head with mirth, “Mom, she says we should head to bridge sixty-nine. We should be able to negotiate with the owner pretty easily. Heh. Sixty-nine.”

“It is just a number, or is that some sort of code?” I ask puzzled.

Billy launched into the details of what the number meant causing me to groan. Vehicle high beams spring to life behind us nearly blinding with their intensity. Flinching I maneuver the side mirror to get an angle of the thing. Fenris’s rig loomed behind us. I take up the comm mike, flicking channels. “Fenris! You are a sight for sore eyes; kill the lights before that becomes a literal statement.”

Fenris’s rolling laughter comes over the channel, “Ah, Suture! The gods told me you would be here. Getting into trouble with out me again, this is your third offense and I cannot let that go unanswered.”

I flick the camera angle to view Kat in the turret. She blinks at the lens innocently, a tiny smile creasing her lips. Having Fenris on my side further lifts my spirits. “Allow me to make it up to you. Come with us, there is sure to be…uh glory on the way.”

Fenris rumbled, “Glory I have. It is revenge on Aegis I seek. We will come with you, for the honor or RECR.”

“For the honor of RECR.” I repeat, not knowing what else to say.

******** ********* *********** *********** ********* ************

I keep the crew busy having them running system checks, Lacey helping out where she could. She really hated the feeling of being a fifth wheel and I could definitely relate. I slow the rig as we approach a bullet riddled sign labeling the bridge exit. A steel plated gate barred the way to the bridge, with a pair of look outs patrolling the parapet. Kat began to turn her turret, angling the guns up before I waved her off. Fenris called over the channel, “We are to leave the city?”

“Yes, Fenris. Are your seals alright on that beast of yours? After this bridge its poly storm country.”

“Aye. Where you go we can follow, easily.”

“Good to hear. I got to talk to the owner about use of the bridge. Be right back.”

Exiting the rig I keep my hands where they can be seen and address the pair guarding the bridge entrance. “Hello there. I am here to barter for passage through.”

The pair on the gate couldn’t have been more than teenagers. Teenagers with long rifles as one covers me the other answers, “Gate’s closed. You will have to come back when Debby is feeling better. Till then, buzz off.”

Frowning, “Debby. I assume that is the owner? What is wrong with her? Maybe we can help?” Making a motion to show case that we drove medical vehicles and that we were obviously, medics ourselves.

The teen spits over the wall, “She’s in labor. Ain’t nothing to do but wait it out.”

“We could help. Maybe make her comfy, make sure the baby is ok and all that.” I say not willing to be deterred.

The two confer with each other and finally the speaker nods, “She is in a lot of pain, if you can help then we will let you in.” Before I can nod the gate begins to swing inward, drawn by cable crank. Back into the rig I drive through the opening. The tunnel bridge spanned the length of nearly a mile, the sides crammed with thin metal shanties. Barrel fires lit the area and the smoke from them darkening the air above, coating the high ceiling with soot. “Billy, Torq, get the gear. We have a pregnancy to take care of. Figure we can use it to barter our way across.”

Meeting up with the lookout I spoke with at the wall, he points to one of the lean to shacks. “She’s in there. The one with all the people around it.”

Leave a comment